Disclaimer: Due to the rapidly changing nature of social work regulations, for the most up-to-date information on becoming a social worker in Maryland, contact the Maryland Social Work Licensing Board.
Maryland law recognizes four classes of social workers: Licensed Bachelor Social Worker, Licensed Graduate Social Worker, Licensed Clinical Social Worker, Licensed Certified Social Worker. The requirements are as follows:
License Renewal: Renewal is required every two years in October. Requirements for renewal are the successful completion of 40 contact hours of continuing education every two years and payment of a $226 renewal fee.
In order to become a licensed social work practitioner in Maryland, you will need to complete prerequisite coursework, examination requirements, and, in some cases, supervised work requirements. Also, certain levels of social work in Maryland can only be reached after earning a Master of Social Work. We are committed to keeping updated information on Maryland social work licensure policies available to you.
Disclaimer: Social Worker Salary information is taken from the Bureau of Labor Statistics. Information about social worker salaries in Maryland is subject to change. Please confirm salary information with your state before applying for licensure or renewal. Last updated: 8/22/2018.
Amount: Varies between $4,500 and $30,000 determined by an applicant’s overall reported educational debt at the time of application.
Description: Open to Maryland residents who provide public service in Maryland. You must have earned a degree from a college in Maryland, or from any law school, or hold a resident teacher certificate from the Maryland State Department of Education (MSDE). You must be employed full time (35+ hours per week) in state or local government or in a nonprofit organization in Maryland. Your employer must help low-income, underserved residents or underserved areas in the state. You must have educational loans from a university, government or commercial source. You may not be in default on a loan. This is a service‐based program. Your annual gross salary cannot exceed $60,000. If married, your annual gross salary cannot exceed $60,000, and your combined salaries cannot exceed $130,000. If employed as a nurse faculty member, your annual gross salary cannot exceed $75,000. If married, your annual gross salary cannot exceed $75,000, and your combined salaries cannot exceed $160,000. Prior service obligations from other State of Maryland scholarships must be completed by July 1, 2016